Russian 1103: Syllabus
Week 1: Sunday 08/20/17 - Saturday 08/26/17 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Read Course Description (link at the top of this syllabus).
Thursday
Read, analyze, do substitutions and memorize in Chapter 1.
Dialogs: 1, 2, 3, 5.

Optional: Practice singing or pronouncing the lyrics of song “Kalinka” using the karaoke video at http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BMSrQ-xAPAE. You can also watch this video clip.

Week 2: Sunday 08/27/17 - Saturday 09/02/17 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Chapter 1.
Dialogs: 6, 7, 11.
Thursday
Read, analyse, do substitutions, and memorize in Chapter 2.
Dialogs:1, 2, 3.
Week 3: Sunday 09/03/17 - Saturday 09/09/17 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Chapter 2.
Dialogs: 4, 6, 7.
Thursday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Chapter 3.
Dialogs: 1, 2, 3.
Week 4: Sunday 09/10/17 - Saturday 09/16/17 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Chapter 4.
Dialogs: 1, 2, 6.
Thursday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Chapter 4.
Dialogs: 8, 9, 11.

Week 5: Sunday 09/17/17 - Saturday 09/23/17 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Chapter 5.
Dialogs: 5, 6, 8.

Optional: Practice pronouncing and singing «Крутится, вертится шар голубой» at this karaoke site: http://www.karaoke.ru/records/17486361

Thursday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Chapter 6.
Dialogs: 2, 8, 4.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to use the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Week 6: Sunday 09/24/17 - Saturday 09/30/17 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Chapter 7.
Dialogs: 3, 6, 7.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to use the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Thursday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Chapter 8.
Dialogs: 3, 4, 8.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to use the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Week 7: Sunday 10/01/17 - Saturday 10/07/17 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Chapter 9.
Dialogs: 2, 3, 5.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to use the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Thursday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Chapter 10.
Dialogs: 3, 5, 10.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to use the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Week 8: Sunday 10/08/17 - Saturday 10/14/17 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Fall break - Осљнние канќкулы
Thursday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Chapter 12.
Dialogs: 5, 10, 12.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to use the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Week 9: Sunday 10/15/17 - Saturday 10/21/17 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Главђ 13.
Диалћги: 3, 5, 8.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to use the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Thursday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Главђ 14.
Диалћги: 3, 10, 11.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to use the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Week 10: Sunday 10/22/17 - Saturday 10/28/17 [show/hide]
Tuesday
A homework for today: a carryover from Thursday, week 9.
Please disregard the assignment below: Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Главђ 15.
Диалћги: 3, 4, 6.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to use the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Thursday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Главђ 16.
Диалћги: 1, 7, 12.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to utilize the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Week 11: Sunday 10/29/17 - Saturday 11/04/17 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Главђ 17.
Диалћги: 1, 2, 3.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to use the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Thursday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Главђ 17.
Диалћги: 6, 8, 9.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to use the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Week 12: Sunday 11/05/17 - Saturday 11/11/17 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Главђ 19.
Диалћги: 4, 8, 11.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to use the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Thursday
Read, analyze, do substitutions, and memorize in Главђ 20.
Диалћги: 4, 7, 11.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to use the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Week 13: Sunday 11/12/17 - Saturday 11/18/17 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Read, analyze, and do substitutions in Главђ 21
Диалћги: 1,2,3.

Thursday
Read, analyze, and do substitutions in Главђ 21
Диалћги: 7, 11, 12.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to use the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Week 14: Sunday 11/19/17 - Saturday 11/25/17 [show/hide]
Сегћдня суббћта, двђдцать пїтое ноябрї.
Tuesday
Read, analyze, and do substitutions in Главђ 22.
Диалћги: 2, 5, 10.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to use the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Thursday
Thanksgiving - Дљнь Благодарљния
Week 15: Sunday 11/26/17 - Saturday 12/02/17 [show/hide]
Tuesday
Read, analyze, and do substitutions in Главђ 23.
Диалћги: 4, 9, 11.

Write and bring to class your own 2-line dialog. Do your best to use the grammar and vocabulary that you have learned this week.

Thursday
With your classmates, in pairs or in small groups, write, memorize, and prepare to act out a skit, at least four lines per actor. Use the vocabulary that you have learned in your Russian courses, pay attention to your pronunciation, and show your best grammar.
Week 16: Sunday 12/03/17 - Saturday 12/09/17 [show/hide]